Home Creative writing A Masterclass in Storytelling and Intrigue with Acclaimed Author Nikesh Shukla | Guardian Master Classes

A Masterclass in Storytelling and Intrigue with Acclaimed Author Nikesh Shukla | Guardian Master Classes

0

The old saying goes that everyone has a book in them – and that may be true, but what’s also true is this: writing can be difficult, requires resilience and perseverance, and, truth be told, not many people complete the challenges to successfully finish their first draft. Rather than getting stuck, discover how to build your story effectively by learning how to combine the three essential elements: character, narrative and plot.

Building on his upcoming creative writing guide, Your story mattersand in a friendly and informal virtual setting, author, screenwriter and writing mentor Nikesh Shukla will help you shape your story in a way that will hone your skills, build your confidence, and ensure it’s worth telling.

Learn how to make your plot, character, and story speak to each other in a structured way and how to make sure your characters lead your reader through the plot and don’t let the plot dictate what happens to them. Above all, discover how to boost your confidence and strengthen your resilience to accompany you in a writing process that, far from being a chore, can be stimulating.

Course content

  • Three elements that must work together: character, narrative and plot

  • How not to let the plot dictate what happens to your character

  • Build a story around your characters

  • Build a plot that serves your story

This course is for…

Tutor profile

Nikesh Shukla is an author, screenwriter and one of the UK’s foremost voices on diversity and inclusion in the arts. Nikesh is the editor of Observer magazine and was previously its columnist. He is the editor of the best-selling essay collection The Good Immigrant, which won Reader’s Choice at the Books Are My Bag Awards, and was shortlisted for Book of the Year at the British Book Awards. He is the author of several books, including Coconut Unlimited (shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and shortlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize), Meatspace, Run Riot, The Boxer, Brown Baby and is co-editor of The Good Immigrant USA. .

Nikesh’s Creative Writing Guide Your story matters: find your voice, sharpen your skills, tell your story comes out March 17, 2022. If you live in the UK, you can buy a book and a ticket for the combined price of £62.08, including postage and carriage.

Details

Appointment: Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Time: 6:30-8:30 p.m. (GMT)
Price: £49 (plus £2.66 booking fee) or £62.08 for book + ticket (plus £3.22 booking fee)

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live stream time.

6:30 p.m. GMT | 7:30 p.m. CET | 11:30 a.m. PDT | 2:30 p.m. EDT

You will receive a link to the webinar 2 hours before the start time of 6:30 p.m. (BST).

Sign up for our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitter here.

Guardian Master Class Information

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

By registering for this masterclass, you are helping to support the Guardian, and it allows us to keep our quality reporting open to all.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible – but please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Return policy
Once the purchase has been made, we cannot refund you if you do not attend or if you cancel your event booking. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.