Home Written work Ivor Novello Awards 2022: Adele, Ed Sheeran, Dave and Raye among the nominees for writing gongs | Ents & Arts News

Ivor Novello Awards 2022: Adele, Ed Sheeran, Dave and Raye among the nominees for writing gongs | Ents & Arts News


The nominees for this year’s Ivor Novello Songwriting Awards have been announced, with Adele, Dave, Ed Sheeran, Raye and Coldplay among the stars who were recognized.

Other artists in the running include Laura MvulaLittle Simz, Sam Fender, Holly HumberstoneFKA Twigs, James Blake and Rag’n’Bone Man.

Producer and writer Inflo, real name Dean Josiah Cover, tops the nominations with four – including three in the Best Album category for his work with Cleo Sol on Mother, SAULT on Nine and Little Simz on Sometimes I Might Be introverted.

Other artists vying for the award include Mvula for Pink Noise and Sleaford Mods for Spare Ribs.

Coldplay is up for Songwriter of the Year. Photo: Ivor Novello Prize
FKA twigs.  Photo: Aidan Zamiri/ Ivor Novello Awards
FKA Twigs is nominated in the Best Contemporary Song category. Photo: Aidan Zamiri/ Ivor Novello Awards

the Ivor Novello Award recognizing creative musical achievement in songwriting and composing, and also celebrating a number of singer-songwriters and bands for their wider contribution to British music.

The artists nominated for the ceremony’s grand prize, Songwriter of the Year – which organizers say honors “outstanding song ensembles” released in 2021 – are Adele, Sheeran, Dave, Coldplay and Raye. For Sheeran, the nod comes just a day after his Shape Of You Copyright Lawsuit Victory.

Individual songs up for grabs include Rag’n’Bone Man’s All You Ever Wanted, Adele’s Easy On Me, Humberstone’s Haunted House, Fender’s Seventeen Going Under and Let’s Go Home Together, performed by Ella Henderson and Tom Grennan .

The Ivors also recognize writing and composing songs for television, film and computer games, with the scores for the game Marvel’s Guardian Of The Galaxy and the Biographical film about Princess Diana Spencer both among the nominees.

Former Ivors winner and judge Shaznay Lewis, of All Saints, said it had been “a remarkable year” for music.

“I am full of admiration for the 77 talented songwriters and composers we are celebrating this year,” she said. “Their work and their lyrics touch a dizzying range of emotions, and I count myself lucky to have heard their stories.”

Read more: Interview with Laura Mvula
Read more: Interview with Rag’n’Bone Man

Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover topped the nominations for his work with artists such as Little Simz. Photo: Ivor Novello Prize
Tom Grennan.  Photo: Ivor Novello Prize
Tom Grennan’s songs Let’s Go Home Together and Little Bit Of Love were both shortlisted. Photo: Ivor Novello Prize

This year’s ceremony will be the 67th Ivors presentation, which will take place in London on May 19.

Shortlisted artists, writers and songs are judged by award-winning songwriters and composers from the Ivors Academy, with recent winners including Harry Styles, Lianne La Havas, Celeste, Calvin Harris and Goldfrapp.

Now in its third year, the event’s Rising Star Award features a list of all-female nominees this time around: Ashaine White, Luz, Matilda Mann, Naomi Kimpenu and PinkPantheress.

Scroll down for the full list of nominees.

Holly Humberstone.  Photo: Louis Brown Prize/Ivor Novello
Former Ivors rising star Holly Humberstone is nominated in the song categories this year. Photo: Louis Brown Prize/Ivor Novello
Little Simz.  Photo: Ivor Novello Prize
Little Simz is up for Best Album and Best Contemporary Song. Photo: Ivor Novello Prize


Mother – written by Cleo Sol and Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover, performed by Cleo Sol
Nine – written by Cleo Sol, Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Jack Peñate, performed by SAULT
Pink Noise – written by Dann Hume and Laura Mvula, performed by Laura Mvula
Sometimes I Might Be Introverted – written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz, performed by Little Simz
Spare Ribs – written by Andrew Fearn and Jason Williamson, performed by Sleaford Mods


Body – written by Gotcha, Russ Millions and Tion Wayne, performed by Russ Millions & Tion Wayne
Coming Back – written by James Blake, Dominic Maker, Starrah and SZA, performed by James Blake ft SZA
Don’t Judge Me – written by FKA twigs, Fred again.. and Headie One, performed by FKA twigs, Headie One, Fred again..
I Love You, I Hate You, written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz, performed by Little Simz
Just For Me – written by Mura Masa, PinkPantheress, Mike Kinsella, Steve Holmes and Steve Lamos, performed by PinkPantheress


After Love – composed by Chris Roe
Censor – composed by Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch
Last Night in Soho – composed by Steven Price
Spencer – composed by Jonny Greenwood
The World to Come – composed by Daniel Blumberg

Sleaford mods.  Photo: Ivor Novello Prize
Sleaford Mods is up for best album for Spare Ribs. Photo: Ivor Novello Prize


Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy – composed by Richard Jacques
Omno – composed by Benedict Nichols
Returnal – composed by Bobby Krlic


All You Ever Wanted – written by Mike Elizondo, Natalie Hemby, Ben Jackson-Cook and Rag’n’Bone Man, performed by Rag’n’Bone Man
Easy On Me – written by Adele and Greg Kurstin, performed by Adele
Haunted House – written by Sarah Aarons, Holly Humberstone and Rob Milton, performed by Holly Humberstone
Let’s Go Home Together – written by James Arthur, Tom Barnes, Ella Henderson, Pete Kelleher & Ben Kohn, starring Ella Henderson & Tom Grennan
Seventeen Going Under – written and performed by Sam Fender


Blitz Spirit with Lucy Worsley – composed by Jessica Dannheisser
Landscapers – composed by Arthur Sharpe
Robin Robin – composed by Ben Please and Beth Porter
The Outlaws – composed by Stew Jackson and Dan Jones
The Serpent – composed by Dominic Scherrer

Rag'n'Bone Man.  Photo: Fiona Garden/Ivor Novello Awards
Rag’n’Bone Man was nominated for his hit All You Ever Wanted. Photo: Fiona Garden/Ivor Novello Awards


Bad Habits – written again by Fred.., Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran, performed by Ed Sheeran
Bed – written by David Guetta, Jin Jin, Raye and Giorgio Tuinfort, performed by Joel Corry, Raye and David Guetta
Cold Heart (Pnau Remix) – written by Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Andrew Meecham & Dean Meredith, performed by Elton John & Dua Lipa
Little Bit Of Love – written by Daniel Bryer, Tom Grennan and Mike Needle, performed by Tom Grennan
Shivers – written by Kal Lavelle, Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran, portrayed by Ed Sheeran


Ashaine White
Mathilde Mann
Naomi Kimpenu


cold play
Ed Sheeran