Home Book Award National Book Award nominee Sara Connell to release new short story collection

National Book Award nominee Sara Connell to release new short story collection

0

Ghost House by Sara Connell

‘Crazy’ women roam the streets at these awful and all-too-plausible fictional feasts

Witchy and wonderful… Connell’s stories are stunning in their unbridled imagination and in their truths about womanhood, capitalism and power.

— Allison Epstein, New York Times bestselling author

CHICAGO, IL, USA, August 19, 2022 /EINPresswire.com/ — After a book saved his life 17 years ago, Sara Connell committed to contributing as a writer and dedicating her life to helping women and men with a story to share. That wish has taken her to Oprah, The New York Times, Forbes, and to coaching thousands of incredible people who are now changing the lives of millions through their stories and discussions.

This, Connellfirst collection of short stories, published by Literary Muse, invites the reader into a world where “crazy women” have come out of the attic and roam the streets in a spooky world of psychedelic frogs, manic therapists, talking neon signs and suffocating mothers. A newlywed couple buy a coveted haunted house with disastrous results, a young woman loses her job and her mind, and a group of high school girls attempt immortality as a last resort to save a friend.

In each chilling and all-consuming story, Connell subtly addresses patriarchy and the power it wields in our collective culture. Her singular voice across the range of stories will make readers think, laugh and shiver.

Ghost House is set to release on September 13, 2022, and pre-release reviewers have been raving.

“Each riveting story in Sara Connell’s Ghost House collection showcases her taut language, perfect pacing, and incredible insight into complex characters navigating the threats of various outside forces. The sly humor and masterful prose of Connell made me turn the pages and hold my breath. This book is a must read!”
—Christie Tate, New York Times bestselling author for Group

“Sara’s work is sharp, funny, full of twists and turns—so beautifully written and so generous with ghosts and puppets and aliens and humans. What a wonderful opportunity to be able to read her stories!”
—Juan Martinez, author of Best Worst American

“Witchy and wondrous, the stories of Ghost House are both surreal and all too real, creating a landscape that is at once unnerving, rage-inducing and tender. Connell’s stories are stunning in their vivid imagination and in their truths about womanhood. , capitalism and power. Fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Samanta Schweblin won’t want to miss this.”
—Allison Epstein, New York Times bestselling author of A Tip for the Hangman

“There is a savagery in Sara Connell’s fiction that reflects the subversive power of the imagination. Like dreams, her stories can be unsettling or beautiful or an interplay of each. Unlike most dreams, once you read his stories, you don’t forget them.
—Stuart Dybek, winner of the National Poetry Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award

Ghost House will be released on September 13, 2022.

Liz Montero
Digital Red Clover
[email protected]

Ghost House Official Trailer