Home Book Award Ucross Announces Spring 2022 Fellows – Sheridan Media

Ucross Announces Spring 2022 Fellows – Sheridan Media


Ucross Art Gallery

Spring has arrived at the Ucross Foundation. From February 7 to June 3, 56 artists from various disciplines will be in residence at the historic 20,000-acre ranch at the foot of the Bighorn Mountains in northern Wyoming.

“We are always energized when artists arrive on campus,” Ucross President William Belcher said. “It is an honor to support these accomplished individuals in their creative work and to introduce many of them to our vast Wyoming landscape.”

Victoria Chang

Notable Ucross scholars this session include award-winning poet Victoria Chang of Torrance, California; Kawai Strong Washburn, PEN/Hemingway Award winner, of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Laurie Lewis of Berkeley, California; famed experimental choreographer Sam Kim from Brooklyn, New York; and animator and filmmaker Kelly Sears of Denver, Colorado, whose films have screened at Sundance, South by Southwest, American Film Institute, Los Angeles Film Festival and MoMA.

Residencies range from two to six weeks, with 10 artists in residence at a time. Ucross Scholars receive uninterrupted time, studio space, housing, meals by a professional chef, and the unparalleled experience of the majestic high plains. To increase access to the program, Ucross is offering scholarship recipients a $1,000 stipend to cover travel and other expenses.

“My time at Ucross has nourished me deeply – the land, the well-appointed spaces, the delicious food, the brilliant community of artists, and the long days with nothing to do but write,” said the author Amy Hassinger. “Totally transformative.”

Artists in this session will travel to Wyoming from across the United States, as well as Toronto, Canada, and London, England. The list includes Ucross General Residents who applied through the open call for artists; recipients of the Ucross Fellowships for Native American Visual Artists and Writers; and residents joining the program through partnerships with Yale University’s David Geffen School of Drama, PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel, Herb Alpert Award in the Arts, Rice University Shepherd School of Music, the Sundance Institute and the University of Houston MFA in the creative writing program.

The Spring 2022 Ucross Scholars are:


Liz Appel, playwriting, New York, NY, Melissa Beneche, fiction, Lauderhill, FL, Victoria Chang, poetry, Torrance, CA. Shayok Misha Chowdhury, playwriting, Brooklyn, NY, Melody Cooper, screenwriting, Los Angeles, CA , Alena Graedon, Fiction, Brooklyn, NY, Amy Hassinger, Nonfiction, Urbana, IL, Majkin Holmquist, Playwriting, Brooklyn, NY, Jaime Jarrett, Playwriting, Brooklyn, NY May Jeong, Nonfiction, Brooklyn, NY, Porochista Khakpour, Fiction. Forest Hills, NY Jamil Kochai, Fiction, West Sacramento, CA, Kate McQuade, Fiction, Andover, MA, Daniela Naomi Molnar, Poetry, Portland, OR, James Harrison Monaco, Theater/Drama, Brooklyn, NY, Tomas Moniz, Fiction, Oakland, CA, Genne Murphy, playwriting, Philadelphia, PA, Delaney Nolan, fiction, New Orleans, LA., Danny Thanh Nguyen, nonfiction, San Francisco, CA., Mandy Smoker, poetry, Helena, MT, Reggie Ugwu, Non-Fiction, Brooklyn, NY, Kawai Strong Washburn, Fiction, Minneapolis, MN, Dāshaun Washington, Poetry, Northampton, MA, Adele Williams, Poetry/Prose, Houston, TX

Matty Davis


Anahita Abbasi, music composition, San Diego, CA, Robert Reid Allan, music composition, London, UK, Matty Davis, dance, Berkeley, CA, Alex Dowling, music composition, Brooklyn, NY, Randall Eng, music composition, New York, NY, Sultana Isham, music composition, New Orleans, LA, Kalaisan Kalaichelvan, music composition, Toronto, Canada, Sam Kim, dance, Brooklyn, NY. Nandi Rose Levine, music composition, Chatham, NY, Laurie Lewis, music composition, Berkeley, CA, Peter V. Loewen, musicology, Pearland, TX, Emma O’Halloran, music composition, Brooklyn, NY, Dale Trumbore, music composition, Azusa, California


Sadie Barnette, Multimedia, Oakland, CA, Peter de Lory, Photography, Seattle, WA, Owen Gump, Photography, Fairfax, CA, Ro Haber, Interdiscipline/Film, Los Angeles, CA, Elizabeth Hohimer, Painting/Sculpture, Marfa, TX , Justin Kim, Painting/Drawing/Mixed Media, New York, NY, Michael Kolster, Photography, Brunswick, ME, Laia, Theatre/Multimedia, Brooklyn, NY, Savannah LeCornu, Painting/Drawing/Mixed Media, Bellingham, WA, Kandy Lopez-Moreno, Mixed Media, Fort Lauderdale, FL, Jenene Nagy, Painting/Drawing, Riverside, CA, Richard Pasquarelli, Painting, Bronx, NY, Morgan Price, Printmaking, Bloomington, IL, Tom Rozum, Drawing, Berkeley, CA, Kelly Sears, Film/Video/Animation, Denver, CO., Chris Sollars, Installation/Performance, San Francisco, CA, Sue Sommers, Painting/Drawing/Printmaking, Pinedale, WY, Anne Stagg, Painting, Tallahassee, FL, Stacey Steers , Film/Video, Boulder, CO

Since Ucross’s first residencies were awarded in 1983, more than 2,500 artists have received the gift of time and space. Distinguished members include Annie Proulx, Terry Tempest Williams, Elizabeth Gilbert, Ann Patchett, Ricky Ian Gordon, Bill Morrison, Theaster Gates, Anthony Hernandez and Tayari Jones. Recent National Book Award winners Susan Choi, Sigrid Nunez and Sarah M. Broom have been residents, as have Oscar and Tony winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Emmy Award winner Billy Porter, recent Pulitzer Prize winners Michael R. Jackson and Colson Whitehead and current American Poet Laureate Joy Harjo.

More information on the artist residency program is available at ucross.org.